When I think so much of myself…

20 September 2011 at 10:53 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )

The days that I think I don’t need God? The days that I think I’ve got it? Those are the days I need him the most. The days that I cannot turn my back on him. I cannot think that I can do it on my own. When I think so much of myself that I think I can possibly do any day without Him, that is when I am in the most danger. Danger? Of what? Of overlooking my sin and dulling myself to the Sacrifice made by the Holy Lamb of God. When I think that I can do anything without him – washing dishes, going to a social event, speaking respectfully to my husband – I turn to dependence upon myself. But if I do this, then I lose sight of my frailty. If I lose sight of my frailty, that means I am building myself up to be more than I am, I am making myself god. Little by little. As I decide that I don’t need God, as I decide to keep on running, keep on watching, keep on surfing, I am making myself into an idol and turning from the worship of the only One who deserves it.

 

Today is one of those days.
And that is why I will go to Bible study in the morning.
That is why I will pray.
And listen to cheesy music.
And sit in the presence of the Lord.

So that I can remember who I am.
And more importantly, remember who He is.

“I am who I am.”

Leave a Reply

