The Good Fight

19 January 2012 at 4:00 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

Fighting for faith. What I am called to.

I used to think that this Fight referred to going out in the world and battling opposing ideas/lifestyles/religions/demons/lies/sin. And that is true. But that’s not all. I’m learning that the good Fight for faith is taking place within myself, as well. I need to fight for hope, for joy, for purpose, for peace, for faith within myself. I need to fight to see through the fog of war and see my Jesus standing as Victor.

My weapons and defenses in the Fight: the Word, the Body, the Spirit.

I need to read the Word and sit under it preached. I need to meditate and study and (ahem. I’m not good at this next part.) memorize it.

I need the Body, my brothers and sisters. I need to know that I am not alone. I need to reach out to them in their distress, I need to be reached out to in mine. I need to celebrate with them, hug them, cry with them, pray with them.

I need the sacraments. I need to pray. I need to be thankful. I need perspective.

I need to fight everyday for Faith, so that I can worship our Creator God with all of me. And it is all I can do to keep fighting today. If I think about fighting tomorrow and the next day and the next day, then my strength will leave me. I will be left overwhelmed and lost, blinded by the smoke. God works differently, He gives strength as it is needed. I don’t need the strength for tomorrow because it isn’t tomorrow yet. Like the Israelites collecting manna, I am supplied what I need for today.

Praise Jehovah!

Leave a Reply

