Preparation

2 March 2012 at 8:54 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )

Lent. Preparing for Easter. I’ll be honest, that is not what has been on my mind this season. I’ve been preparing for something else altogether. Deployment. It’s coming up in a just few short months. Instead if preparing for my Savior’s suffering, I’m preparing for my own. Instead of preparing for the ultimate Joy of Easter morning, I’m preparing for a season of loneliness.

There is something wrong with this picture. The only way I’m going to get through the months of anticipation and the following months of difficulty is if I find myself in my Savior. I need Lent and Easter if I’m going to prepare myself for the deployment.

I’m seeing more and more how the Lord needs to change my heart. I’m hard and I easily stray. The human heart – my heart – is an idol factory. Praise the Lord that he knows this about me. But, please, oh please, Lord, I ask you to change my heart and my way of thinking. I am yours.

Leave a Reply

