Trust.

8 September 2012 at 10:48 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , )

“Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways, acknowledge him and he will make straight your paths.”

This verse has been playing in my head this morning. Lean not on your own understanding. Boy, have I been doing that lately. I feel bad for myself, I feel bad for my child, because she doesn’t have her Papa around in this season. I know that a child needs both a mother and a father, that is the best way for a child to be raised. And so I get upset that she can’t have that, and I get overwhelmed because I know I’m not enough for her.

And then I go back to this verse. If I trust in the Lord, and I trust in his sovereignty, and I trust that he has a plan for our lives, then I need to think about this differently. God is perfect. He is perfectly good. He is perfectly wise. He is perfectly sovereign. So that means that for this child, for myself, this life, this way, is the best way for her to grow up. This is indeed happening, so it is in his plan. How can I know better for myself or for my child than God? I can’t. And this is what he has laid out for our lives. So it must be the best for us. I need to stop trusting in the world’s wisdom, it is foolishness.

Well then. Why am I fretting so? Why am I worrying? I need to actively rest in his goodness. I need to be still, be content. And trust. I need to trust that he is doing something good. I need to remember that this is so much bigger than me and my family.

“Be still and know that I am God.”

Trust. Still.

“As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love.”

Trust. Still. Abide.

Leave a Reply

